Board Information & News

School Board Information

The Bedford County Board of Education, per policy, meets on the third Tuesday of each month in a regular session at 5:30 pm in the Central Office Building Board Room located at 500 Madison Street, unless otherwise indicated. All meetings are open to the public. If any accommodations are needed for individuals with disabilities who wish to be present at the meeting, please contact Aisha Weatherford at 931-684-3284, ext. 2220, by writing her c/o Bedford County Board of Education at 500 Madison Street, Shelbyville, TN  37160, or by email Requests should be made as soon as possible but at least one week prior to the scheduled meeting in order to provide for such needed aid or service.

Members of the Board of Education are residents of and elected on a non-partisan basis from nine county districts for a four-year term. All Powers of the Board of Education lie in its action as a group; individual members exercise their authority over school system affairs only as they vote to take action at an official meeting.

2021 Tentative Board Meetings

Board Meetings

Mission Statement

The mission of the Bedford County Department of Education is to provide an environment that enables each student to learn and to become a good citizen.



August 2021

Michael Cook

Bedford County School Board elected a new chairperson, Michael Cook, on Tuesday night during its regular monthly meeting.  

Cook represents the fifth school district. In a non-election year, the board votes in August a chair and vice chair


November 2020

During a recent award ceremony, the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) named five outstanding school board members to the All Tennessee School Board. Members of the board were selected by a panel of judges. Following are the criteria for this award:
  • Must have achieved Level IV in the TSBA Boardsmanship award program
  • Quality of service with emphasis on the previous 12 months
  • Participation in board development activities with emphasis on the previous 12 months
  • Specific accomplishments of the local board of education during the nominee’s term on the board
  • Leadership activities at the local, regional, or state level
The All Tennessee School Board nominee that receives the highest collective ranking by the judges is the recipient of the School Board Member of the Year/C. Hal Henard Distinguished Service Award. This person serves as the chairman of the All Tennessee School Board.

 Congratulations to Dr. Andrea Anderson for being named a member of the 2020 All Tennessee School Board. “Dr. Anderson is a truly sincere individual who is driven by her desire to help every single person, not only in her role as a school board member, but throughout the community,” stated the Bedford County Director of Schools. 



September 2020

The Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) hosted the South Central Fall District Webinar on September 24. Several South Central District school board members earned TSBA Boardsmanship Awards in 2020. The awards are presented to individual board members who have achieved one of five levels of boardsmanship standards over the past year. The program is designed to recognize school board members for participation in board activities beyond the local level through a commitment to training, willingness to participate in workshops and a volunteer spirit. The Boardsmanship Award honors not only the quantity, but also the quality of participation. Bedford County School Board members were honored for their achievements this year were:

Level I

Dan Reed

Level IV

David Brown

Brian Crews




March 2020


board3Bedford County Board of Education recently received Tennessee School Board Association’s “Board of Distinction” award from TSBA’s South Central Director Pat Welsh of Tullahoma. The honor, which Bedford County will maintain for two years, recognizes boards for meeting specified requirements in planning, policy, promotion and board development. Currently, only 32 school boards in Tennessee are designated out of the 141 state school districts.




November 2019

Bedford County Board of Education and Davis Stokes Collaborative P.C. were recognized during the Tennessee School Board Association’s (TSBA) Annual Convention. They were awarded School of the Year for Excellence in Architectural Design in the High School division for Cascade High School.


The following criteria was taken into consideration for this award:
cost efficiency, aesthetics, energy and environmentally conscious design, flexibility-expandability and size and development of site.
In 2005, the Board and Davis-Stokes won second place for design of Harris Middle School as well as the People's Choice award that year.

September 2019

board2Bedford County School Board member Nicole Cashion was recently awarded the Level 1 Boardsmanship Award and David Brown was awarded the Level 3 Award by the Tennessee School Boards Association. Also, school board member Michael Cook (not pictured) earned the Level 4 Boardsmanship Award by TSBA. Congratulations to all awarded on your achievements. We are especially appreciative of your hard work and dedication to Bedford County Schools.