Title I Schools

Title I-A of the Elementary & Secondary Education Act (ESEA) is the largest federally funded educational program. This program, authorized by Congress, provides supplemental funds to  school districts to assist schools with the highest student concentration of poverty in order to meet educational goals.

 Title I Programs 

  • Based on the school's economic level
  • Accountable for adequate progress in the schools it serves
  • Researched based instruction in language, reading, and math to ensure effective instructional strategies
  • Afford parents opportunities to participate in the education of their children at home and school
  • Provide opportunities for professional development within schools and in the Bedford County School System


Schoolwide Program (SWP):  

To be eligible to operate a schoolwide program, the school must be selected by LEA with an approved schoolwide plan and meet the required poverty threshold of 40 percent. Schoolwide programs are not required to specifically identify eligible Title I students for targeted Title I services over and above the regular program. All students are eligible to participate in all aspects of the schoolwide program, as appropriate. 

Title I Schools

Title I Principals

Community Middle

Tony Garrette

  Community Elementary

  Whitney Yoes

  Eakin Elementary

  Kathy Reed

  East Side Elementary

 Layne Draper-Talbot

  Learning Way Elementary

  Christi Lux

  Southside Elementary

  Dr. Stephanie Landis

  Harris Middle

  Patrick Hasty

  Liberty School

 Amy McCullough