RTI Recognition

Seven Bedford County Schools Receive RTI Recognition
The Tennessee Behavior Supports Project (TBSP) at Vanderbilt University (funded by the Tennessee Department of Education) is proud to announce that four schools in Bedford County have been selected as 2020-2021 gold or silver level RTI2-B Model of Demonstration Schools. There are over 1,800 schools across the state of Tennessee and each year a small percentage of schools meet criteria to be selected as an RTI2-B Model of Demonstration School.

These schools have been participants in training and technical assistance provided by TBSP and have undergone the process of implementing a positive and proactive behavioral systems framework for all students. The RTI2-B framework consists of: identifying common behavioral expectations across campus, teaching, re-teaching, reinforcing, and regularly acknowledging students, faculty, and families for exhibiting these expectations. These schools have applied this framework to improve the climate, culture, and proactive disciplinary practices which directly impacts student engagement and school connectedness. In meeting this award criteria, these schools demonstrated use of school-wide behavioral data to inform teaching practices and levels of support provided to students based on need. Twice a year, they also reflected on overall fidelity to guide their implementation of the RTI2-B framework.

It is TBSP’s goal that no school in Tennessee should have to travel more than 45 minutes to see an exemplary school implementing RTI2-B. As a gold or silver level RTI2-B Model of Demonstration School, these schools can now serve as a mentor to other schools across Middle Tennessee.

Also, TBSP is proud to announce that three Bedford County Schools have been selected as a 2020-2021 School of Recognition. As a School of Recognition, these three schools are on their way to serving as a mentor to other schools across Middle Tennessee.

These awards will be presented at the Partners In Education Conference held in Nashville by the Department of Education.
RTI2B Gold
Gold Level Model of Demonstration Schools
Community Elementary
Learning Way Elementary
Silver Level Model of Demonstration Schools
Eakin Elementary
East Side Elementary 
RTI2B Recognition
School of Recognition
Community Middle
Harris Middle
Southside Elementary